The Central Bank of Turkey

Türkiye Cumhuriyet Merkez BankasThe Central Bank of the Republic of Turkey (Türkiye Cumhuriyet Merkez Bankası) is the Turkey’s central bank, founded on 11 June 1930.

The bank’s history

In 1840, the Treasury began issuing notes – the first Turkish banknotes.

In 1847, established the first Turkish bank – Bank Desraadet. In 1856 was established the Anglo-French Ottoman Bank, carrying out functions of a central bank. In 1863, the state created the Imperial Ottoman Bank, to which were transferred the functions of the central bank and the right to issue banknotes.

December 30, 1925 began production of banknotes of the Grand National Assembly of Turkey.

June 11, 1930 was issued the Resolution of the Grand National Assembly on the establishment of a central bank.

October 3, 1931 founded the Central Bank of the Turkish Republic, which began operations January 1, 1932.

Shares of the CBRT are divided into four classes. Class A shares belong solely to the Turkish Treasury. Class B and Class C shares are allocated to national banks operating in Turkey, banks other than national banks and privileged companies. Finally, Class D shares are allocated to Turkish commercial institutions and to real and legal persons of Turkish nationality.

The Central Bank of the Republic of Turkey Head Office
İstiklal Cad. 10 Ulus
06100 Ankara, Turkey

Tel.: (90 312) 507 5000
Fax: (90 312) 507 5640

Telex : 44033 mbrt tr
E-mail :,
EFT : 0001
Reuters Dealing : CBTA

Like it.? Share it: